Pedicure for the pooch

Saturday’s spring clean up was very successful.  4 bags of sticks and leaves were set out at the curb.  Playing with Sadie in a stick free yard is so much easier!  🙂  Totally worth the hours of yard work!

Since the chores were completed Saturday, we played all day Sunday in the yard!  It was in the 80’s yesterday and Sadie loves playing outside.

Marcus commented about how Sadie’s nails were really sharp, so I decided it was time to give her a pedicure.  I could not cut Daisy’s nails.  We had to take her to the vet to have them cut.  She hated it.   So, I was nervous to try to cut Sadie’s nails.

We were outside playing while Marcus was washing the cars.  Sadie was pretty calm from all the outdoor play.  I decided to seize the moment.  I got a small dish of blueberries, a pair of scissors and the nail clippers.

Sadie loves blueberries.  They are a great treat (low-cal/low-fat) and they take a few moments for her to eat.

We sat in a chair in the backyard with the blueberries next to us.  I laid her on her back, her head on my knees.  I gave her a blueberry for letting me touch her foot.  She ate it and laid there.  I started by trimming the hair around her foot pads.  She let me trim all four feet with no issues.  I would give her a blueberry after a few cuts and then continue.

I was nervous when it was time to cut the nails.  They were long & sharp… it needed to be done.  I am really lucky… all of her nails are pink.  It is really easy to see the blood vessel in each nail.

The vet suggested nail clippers that look like the picture above.  They were comfortable in my hands and cut the nail very easily.  Sadie let me cut all of her nails with no issue!

After every 2 nails, I gave Sadie a blueberry and continued cutting.  She was tired (cooperative) and loving the treats.  I gave her 3 blueberries when we were all done and we played with the frisbee as a final reward.

Today I am going to get her used to the electric clippers.  I shaved Daisy myself after a few bad groomer experiences.  I bought a quality pair of clippers and taught myself how to give a ‘springer field cut’.  It is surprisingly easy to do and I’ve paid for the clippers multiple times over.

It’s supposed to be in the 80’s again today!  Off to enjoy this wonderful weather!  Happy Monday!

3 thoughts on “Pedicure for the pooch

  1. Ugh! What I would do to have all of Jack’s nails magically turn pink!

    I posted about my horrendous experience with a pair of nail clippers that supposedly had a “quick finder” built in, and about a million people told me that they had better luck with a Dremel tool, so I’ll have to invest in one of those for next time I guess. Or take him to a professional.

  2. Impressive! I wish I had tried this with Oscar when he was younger. Now he gets SO finicky when we touch his paws. I’ll have to start from scratch and hopefully gradually get him comfortable with having his paws handled. His nails get done at the groomer’s or at the vet because he’s so skittish and I’m nervous about hurting him. The next challenge would be grooming him at home. I’ve never tried giving him blueberries – good idea!

Leave a Reply

