Puppy School

Yesterday was a fun-filled day for Sadie.  The results equaled 7 full hours of sleep for Mom!  Yeah!

First, I have to mention that we are looking for another vet.  Thank you Stacey, for asking about Sadie’s Bordetella shots!

I assumed she was given the vaccine because the reminder sheet the vet sent home said December 15, 2011 for her next Bordetella.  But, it bugged me that a yearly vaccine would be needed before her first birthday.  Why 12-15-11?  So I made some calls and it turns out the vet assumed the breeder gave her the vaccine.  Why?  Sadie was born 12-23.  How did she get a vaccine on 12-15?  This was after I discovered they messed up the Rabies paperwork.  Puppies get a 1 year Rabies vaccine, than adults get a 3 year vaccine.  They sent us home with 3 year tags & paperwork on Monday.  I called to make sure she got the correct vaccine and the vet verified that she did.  It was just an office error.  Fine.  But how many office errors do you excuse before you being to think they mismanage their practice?  Sadie is a family member.  I want the best for her.  I just don’t feel good about letting them spay her.  Too much can go wrong.

So, we have an appointment with our neighbors’ vet for Sadie’s second Lyme vaccine.  This vet happens to be recommended by an online pet magazine as a top choice award for local vets in STL.  My only concern is that this new vet seems to charge a much higher price for spaying than surrounding vets.  I’ll need to discuss this with the vet.  I want a competent vet that I can trust, but that shouldn’t cost me an extra $200.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  🙂

Back to our day… we rushed over to the “assuming” vet for a quick Bordetella vaccine and then a reward trip to Pet Co.  Sadie loved Pet Co… so many treats to sniff!  🙂  We bought some training treats and some new chew bones.  I bought a pack of puppy edible Nylabones and a pack of bully sticks.   When we returned home, Sadie enjoyed a bully stick in the back yard.

She loved it and it took her about 45 minutes to finish it.  But, it smelled gross.  And, you have to try not to think about what it is – dried bull penis.  Yeah, I know, gross!

After the additional vaccine and a bully stick afternoon, Sadie was tired.  But, we had puppy class to get to.

Sadie slept in the car on the way to class.  With ridiculous traffic, it took us 45 minutes to get to class.  Fine for one class, but I’m not sure I’ll sign up for another series.

Awesome discovery – Sadie’s brother Marco was in the class with her!  So much fun to watch them reunite!  I don’t have any pictures, but I’ll try to get some next week.  The class was a little too crazy to add the element of taking photos!

The puppies had some social time in the beginning and then we practiced Touch, Sit and Go To Your Bed.  There was a disorganized discussion time and the class ended a bit abruptly.  Not sure if I love it.  It’s good for Sadie, she gets to see her brother and with only 4 classes left it’ll be fine.  There is one puppy that is aggressive and doesn’t like other dogs.  He snapped at Sadie last night.  I don’t like that he is in the class, even though I know he needs to learn to socialize.  I’m not crazy about him learning at Sadie’s expense.  I have some reservations about letting her interact with him.

All in all, it was a long day but Sadie enjoyed the experiences.  I’m off to buy her city dog license and a membership to our local dog park!

2 thoughts on “Puppy School

  1. The class was interesting. Judy knows her stuff and it works and I did learn a few pointers. The repetition got to me a bit and Marco got bored with it a few times. We must have similar attention spans. It is good to work in distracting situations and it definitely provides that!
    I would love to get pics of them together….maybe before or after class…..not in chaos!
    The bullys are great…..in spite of being gross. They have saved my hand and Marco’s life.
    I am leery of Max, too. He is big and unpredictable. Marco is bold and confident and I would like to keep him that way…also intact. My daughter had a friend’s trusted malamute turn on her for no discernible reason as a toddler. No harm was done, but it was scary. They are very close to the wolf origin and serious working dogs…very loyal to their owners.

Leave a Reply

