Walking in Forest Park – Take 2

Sadie did a much better job walking through the park on Saturday.

I left the treats and clicker at home.  She did a little jumping from time to time, but not nearly as bad as Friday.  I know it will continue to get better!  The park distractions were really helpful!

She loved the water.  I let her prance around the stream, but I kept her out of the big pond… I wasn’t prepared for a wet dog.  🙂

I think she is going to love the lake!  She almost jumped into the big pond, with all of the water fountains, going for the two ducks.  I stopped her just in time!

We met some more dogs and following them really helped her walk normally.

Big Sigh…. it was a truly enjoyable walk!

The Half-Marathon was great!  Sadie was alone for almost 5 hours and she did a good job.  She still chews her bedding, but it’s not in a destructive way, just more teething.  Her bedding is a sheet & towel, so no mess to clean.  She was calm & quiet when I came home, no screaming.  Yeah!

I rewarded Sadie with an afternoon of backyard play and bully stick chewing.  She loved it!

Today & tomorrow we are practicing new commands and tricks.  Sadie is in a growth spurt and loves the extra fruit!  😉

3 thoughts on “Walking in Forest Park – Take 2

  1. Glad things are getting better for you. Walks are something Mommy enjoys so much. I am glad I have learned to do them too.

    I still chew my bedding too. I don’t like blankets or rugs in my crate. I just want the coolness of the bottom of the crate. Although, I do slip and slide when I try to stand up. Mommy says I look like “Bambi on Ice”.

    Puppy kisses,
    Tanner

  2. I smile every time you mention “Forest Park” because that’s the name of the street I grew up on.

    Glad the marathon went well. As for the walks, clicker, treat bag, etc.– you know your dog, you know what works. Follow your instincts!

Leave a Reply

