Peace of Mind

Sadie has had a fun and busy couple of days.  Our walks are truly enjoyable for both of us!  NO JUMPING!  Yippy!!

I found it was most successful to distract Sadie from jumping.  Saying No wasn’t effective.  I kept taking her back to the park where I used 3 distractions.

  1. Find the birds, Sadie! She is a bird dog.  She loves to find them and chase them. 
  2. Letting her pick up sticks and walk with them in her mouth.  Sadie still likes to chew on sticks, but she doesn’t eat them, she spits out the bark.  I don’t love that she chews them, but I’m ok with her picking up a stick and walking with it.  She drops it pretty quickly in search for a better stick.  This has also helped with teaching drop it and leave it.  I’ll let her pick up sticks, but tell her to leave garbage or to drop something she picks up like the large seeds that fall from the trees.
  3. Pointing out a dog ahead of us on the path.  Sadie loves to meet other people and dogs.  Walking behind other leashed dogs has helped distract Sadie from jumping.

I have kept the park walks to 30 minutes.  The shorter walks may help, too.

We went to our new Vet today.  LOVED her!  Sadie and I thought this clinic was perfect.  The staff was great and gave Sadie tons of love & treats.  The Doctor (and staff) made me feel very comfortable.  This is just what I was looking for!

We discovered the old vet forgot one of the booster shots for one of Sadie’s vaccines, and that reassured me that listening to my gut is invaluable!  Sadie will go back next week for 2 booster shots.  We discussed scheduling the spay for the month of May.

I had a long discussion with the Doctor about why they charge so much for their spays.  I called 2 other vet clinics and the average cost was $375.  This vet is around $450.  The Doctor gave me an itemized list showing all the charges for a full spay.  I really like the transparency of this clinic.  The extra money covers an IV with fluids, a staff person assigned to Sadie that will be with her all day and all pain medications.  I am very comfortable paying this extra money.  You know the saying… You get what you pay for.  I think Sadie will get treated very well here and all risks are minimized with these extras.  I’d rather pay an extra $50 to keep Sadie’s pain to a minimum than save the money and have her suffer needlessly.  I’ve decided to skip the spa treatment I was going to schedule as a reward for the half-marathon I ran and use that money to off-set the extra costs.  I’d rather have peace of mind over an hour massage.  (For those of you that know me…. that’s saying something!  🙂  )

Sadie has a puppy class tomorrow, two play-dates later in the week and she will meet my parents’ new black lab!

3 thoughts on “Peace of Mind

  1. It sounds like she’s learning a lot on those walks! That’s great. I’m glad you found a vet that you like, too. Trust in the vet is invaluable! I wouldn’t want to leave my dog with someone I didn’t feel like I could rely on either.

  2. What a cute lab! I don’t blame you a bit for deciding to go with the more expensive spay. Peace of mind is important too.

    I used to let Thunder carry a stick in his mouth during walks when he was a pup. He had eagle eyes and would dive for sticks if they were within the length of his lead. Made walks frustrating. If I let him carry a stick, he wouldn’t need to dive for one…lol. Eventually he lost interest in sticks.

  3. Your parent’s lab is stunning! I hope they become best buddies!

    Money has a way of turning up. Hope you got the massage and afforded the spay!

Leave a Reply

